Barley is a popular grain in cereals and, because its easily digested, is used as an alternative to rice in baby cereals. Yet, because barley does contain some gluten, it is a less intestinal-friendly cereal for gluten-sensitive children and adults. Unfortunately, most Americans get most of their barley in beer, since barley malt is a popular grain in beer-making. Most of the barley commonly used in cereal or bread-making is “pearled,” which means it has been refined to remove the germs and the bran, much like the degrading of whole wheat to white. You’ll find barley in many soups. It can also be cooked and used in main dishes as a substitute for rice.